beating the heat

July 13, 2007

It’s supposed to reach anywhere from 102 to 109 today, and probably about as bad tomorrow. We’ve decided to drive to the coast on Saturday to visit Portland for the day and escape this awful, dry heat. I’m so glad we have air-conditioning, but it still means being cooped up at home and stressing about the electric bill later this month.

Our poor lawn is not doing very well. The back is fine, a few dry patches here and there, but it’s coming around. But the front…different story. We don’t have underground sprinklers. We have a lot of grass. I’d started watering it at night, after Diego fell asleep, but all that did was develop moss. Now I think I may have sickened the poor lawn. I’ve been getting up at 5 a.m. to water it by hand. What a pain. It takes an hour to do it, while the sprinkler runs in the back. And it still looks pale and anemic. We’ll probably fertilize in the fall and cross our fingers for next spring.

Part of our trip to Portland stems from an impulse online buy I made. I thought I was getting this awesome deal on a duvet, skirt and shams for our bedroom from Anthropologie.com. Unfortunately, the beautiful bedding turned out to be a quilt instead. We’re going to an Anthropologie store in Portland for the return. One less thing to have to pay on the credit card next month, woo-hoo!

I may check out a new Queen Bee tote bag while I’m there. Carlos got me one for Christmas almost three years ago and it’s barely holding up. I use it every day. The bags are great. They’re hand-made vegan purses, made of vinyl but to look leather-like. They’re stitched with pretty designs and patterns. My current bag is canary yellow with big fat raindrops on it.

One Response to “beating the heat”

  1. Menaka said

    Wow, I never thought it would get that hot in Washington. Is that because you are on the east side?? Where is Walla Walla? It is supposed to be that hot here all summer but we have only had one heat wave. Lucky me being 7 months pregnant. One of the most mild summers ever for Ukiah! We find that instead of A/C all the time we wet our loose fitting clothes and then put them on to stay cool. It really works. We use the A/C when it is too hot to sleep or cook. Or when a pregnant mama is too hot, which like I said hasn’t been much this summer!

Leave a Reply

