date afternoon

June 7, 2007

Carlos and I had our first “date” in Walla Walla in many moons. Last time we snuck off to the movies without the baby was when we saw “Pan’s Labyrinth,” before it won the Oscars and was released on video. This time we left work a wee bit early (we took a short lunch, boss, in case you’re reading) to catch “Knocked Up.” It felt sneaky to drive past the street Diego’s day care is on and not stop. We treated ourselves to popcorn and sodas, sprinkling a ton of butter and powdered jalapeno into the popcorn tub. I actually really enjoy movie outings and it was nice to be in a cool, dimly lit theater with my sweetie.  Too bad the movie was so raunchy. Okay, it was sweet and tender as well, in an “awh-shucks” kind of way. The hero of the film is a pot-smoking overgrown child in the body of a young adult, who gets his one-night stand pregnant. And she decides to keep it! I thought it was funny the way “Borat” was funny: I laughed my pants off, but I probably wouldn’t watch it again. There were just a few too many F-words, references to sex acts and body parts and testosterone-laced humor to make me put it at the top of my list. But I had a great laugh. I cracked up when the guy did mushrooms with his future bro-in-law and freaked out watching Cirque du Soleil live in Vegas. There were some great camio scenes with better known movie stars, playing themselves, because the main gal in the movie is a host for E! television.

I think my brand of film humor is more aligned with Alexander Payne flicks, like “Election” or “Citizen Ruth.” One of my favorite movies is “Drop Dead Gorgeous,” a great mockumentary.

Anyway it was great to get away with Carlos, even just for two hours out of the day. We drove to get Diego right away, and it was a great feeling to have him throw his little arms around my neck when we got there. We took him to the park for being so patient with his crazy parents who dared to sneak off to a movie without him.

2 Responses to “date afternoon”

  1. BONGO MIRROR said

    I quite like the kind of movie that you described: inane humour coupled with romance and devoid of violence. To be sure, they are to be watched only once. I agree that it is wonderful to get out of the house. I find that it is far too expensive to do very often: baby sitter, movie tickets and junk food at the theatre. So, we don’t go out very often.

    Recently, we rented “Music & Lyrics”. It was a bit too long for my taste. The fake 80s music video at the start was hilarious. The rest of it just didn’t make me laugh often enough.

  2. cat said

    I was watching Election again tonight. Knocked Up has lots of laughs and is over the top. I’m a sucker for Paul Rudd.

    Glad to hear you got to enjoy a flick, it’s one of my favorite things to do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

