beautiful books

May 29, 2007

I’m such a hypocrite when it comes to spending money. As the family’s “chief financial officer,” I know that we need to be real careful with how we use our money until our next pay check. We just paid the mortgage, and just took a little weekend getaway that ate up a lot of our spare cash.

With that said, I think I am going to splurge today on a beautiful book I haven’t been able to get out of my head since skimming it last week. It’s called “Petropolis,” and is a coming-of-age story about a rebellious girl in Siberia who moves to the U.S.

petropolis.gif

I consider this potential purchase a splurge because it is recently released and thus in hardback. I rarely buy hardback because they’re so expensive and a bit clunky to read. But as I’ve grown older I have come to appreciate the beauty of the jackets and binding more than before. I could also either 1) wait for it to come out on paperback, or 2) look for it in the library, but something about it is screaming for me to own it, today if possible.

I love these coming-of-age stories written by bright young women. The last hardback book I bought was “Towelhead” by Alicia Erian. I bought this book while at a journalism conference in Denver and read it that weekend. It’s about a 13-year-old girl who finds herself no better off living with her estranged father in Texas than with her disinterested mother in New York. It was a painful, funny and real story that I’m sure was loosely based on her life.

towelhead.jpg

Another great book is “Prep” by Curtis Sittenfeld. That’s a girl, not a boy. This one is set during the high school years of an elite prep school in the east coast. It is a very rich and detailed story that reminded me of one of my favorite childhood authors, Judy Blume.

prep2.jpg

I’ll have to follow up once I actually get “Petropolis,” and then give my take once I finish it.

Leave a Reply

