6 a.m.

April 21, 2007

Been up for almost a half hour now. The baby and Carlos are in the living room asleep. Itzul’s in her room, probably won’t get up for a few more hours. I’m not sure why I felt like waking up so early on one of my only two days off during the week, but here I am, in bed, blogging.

Last night we went to a new sushi place in downtown Walla Walla. Diego had been feeling under the weather so he spent most of the dinner with his head on my shoulder, or else playing with my dish and chopsticks. We ordered a few rolls that were really good but not quite great, in my opinion anyway.

The restaurant is set up with three stations of sushi bars, one after the other, with people sitting around them in like a half rectangle shape. The restaurant is so new that I think the chefs are still getting up to speed. Plus they have crazy strict rules about food handling so there’s not a lot of the direct hand contact you might see at a sushi place in, say, Seattle or LA.

After dinner we walked through downtown. It was a beautiful warm night, and we keep forgetting that the sun stays out later. I kept thinking Diego was feeling sick, although I still think he was, but when we got to the Patisserie up the block I realized it was 8:30 p.m. and way past his bedtime. We got drinks and pastries and talked for a bit. This place has exquisite pastries and espresso drinks. Itzul got a fancy cocoa she says was very chocolaty. The cafe was quite nearly packed with all sorts of people. College students, locals, out-of-towners. We walked a little more and did a little window shopping, then headed home for some TV watching. We took Diego’s temperature and he was just around normal. I hope he’s feeling better today.

Considering making pancakes. At least it’ll get me out of bed.

Leave a Reply

