teenager in the house

April 17, 2007

There are now tell-tale signs of a teenager having taken over our home. Wet towel left on the bathroom floor. TV blaring while said teenager plays hand-held video games on couch. Unmade bed, clothes strewn on floor, evidence of long hair on ground. All joking aside, having my step-daughter with us is a true joy. It brings a much-needed dynamic to our home and has Diego excited for the extra attention and bonus play mate. I believe he understands the special connection he shares with his older sister, despite the distance between their visits and the 11 years separating them. She’s here on her spring break and Carlos could not be any giddier about it. He showed off some of his “krumping” moves for us on Saturday and couldn’t keep himself from passing gas. I haven’t laughed so hard in ages. But I’m also a bit on edge because I can feel myself going into mommie overtime with extra food to prepare, dishes to clean and clothes to wash. I gave Carlos his first warning yesterday that I’m not going to be the only one on house cleaning duty this week. And I recognize that’s just me being anal. I have no shame in my obsessions.

Here’s to hoping the weather stays sunny and we get outside as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

